About AEF

Arctic Education Foundation (AEF) was established in 1977 as nonprofit private foundation committed to providing support to eligible students pursuing a degree or certification. The goal of AEF is to create an educated, Iñupiaq-professional workforce that is ready to take on any job, especially those that require professionals within the North Slope region. Applicants who meet the eligibility requirements and display a financial need are granted funding.

  • In 2017 alone, AEF awarded scholarships to 434 students

  • $1.7 million was awarded in educational assistance in 2017

  • 119 students received funding for short term training


Thank you to our contributors for making this possible!

*Arctic Education Foundation is a 501(c)(3) exempt private foundation. Checks can be made payable to Arctic Education Foundation, P.O. Box 129 Barrow, AK 99723.

Flossie Hopson-Andersen Award

Leona Okakok was awarded with the 2nd Annual Flossie Hopson-Andersen award for her long time support and dedication or AEF. Leona tirelessly helped many AEF scholars throughout the years and is a very special person who had a hand in so many of the successes that have come out of the foundation. Leona was joined by her husband and family at the 2016 Ivalu Gala to receive this award.

The inaugural gala debuted the first Flossie Hopson-Anderson Award to the one who deserved it the most, Flossie Hopson-Andersen. Flossie was instrumental in the foundation becoming a nonprofit and has personally helped many of the executives that run Arctic Slope Regional Corporation today. It was an honor to have this award created in her namesake, and to honor her with this award in front of friends, families, and AEF supporters. Flossie was joined by her husband and family to receive this award.

Umialik Award

In 2016, AEF honored Conoco Phillips with the 2nd Annual Umialik Award, which means whaling captain or boss. Conoco Phillips is a company that has been with AEF since the beginning… an international company with a real local presence. Conoco Phillips has been a contributor to AEF for many, many years donating nearly 70-thousand dollars to AEF… just since 2007! Nick Olds, with ConocoPhillips was present to accept this award on their behalf.
The inaugural Umialik Award, which means whaling captain or boss, was presented to two long time AEF supporters, BP Alaska and Chevron. The inaugural Ivalu Gala was the first public platform to honor longtime supporters to AEF, so having to choose between both companies was an impossible decision. AEF was happy to honor both companies with the inaugural Umiliak Award as a small token of our gratitude. Phil Cochrane, with BP Alaska, and Kevin Donley, with Chevron, were both present to receive this award.